Leadership Team

Songhai Capital is lead by respected and experienced business leaders.

Our team has collaborated over a number of years and have, in their individual capacity, successfully lead, positioned and transformed large, listed companies in the South African market.

Zarina Bassa, Executive Chairman
Zarina serves on the boards of Kumba Iron Ore, Vodacom South Africa, Investec, Sun International, Woolworths Holdings, Oceana Group Limited, Senwes Ltd, and the Financial Services Board. She also chairs the board of Yebo Yethu, Vodacom South Africa’s BEE vehicle.

Steve Booysen, Executive Director
Steve serves on the boards of Steinhoff, Senwes, Vukile Properties Fund and Clover and is the non-executive chairman of the Efficient Group.

Shameel Joosub, Non-Executive Director
Shameel is the CEO of the Vodacom Group.

Peter Mageza, Executive Director
Peter serves on the boards of Eqstra, Sappi, Remgro, MTN, Ethos Capital and and RCL Group, Anglo American Platinum.

Edwin Schmidt, Non-Executive Director
Edwin is the CEO of the Schmidt Family Office and is a respected wealth advisor and private banker.